Some carriers are able to transport some types of dangerous goods, in limited quantities, by road or rail, for pre-approved customers only.


What are dangerous goods?

Dangerous goods are classified into nine hazard classes by the UN (United Nations) and reflected in the  IATA Dangerous Good Regulations.

Dangerous goods are substances or articles with hazardous properties which, if not handled correctly, may:

  • Explode
  • Asphyxiate
  • Burn
  • Poison
  • Corrode skin or metals
  • Pollute the environment
  • Become unstable with other products

When shipping DGs, you must have them:

  1. Have someone properly certified in DG signing off on the shipments
  2. Approved by Shippit/the carrier before shipping
  3. Packaged and labelled correctly
  4. Accompanied by a MSDS or SDS (Material Safety Data Sheet or Safety Data Sheet)


How do I apply to ship dangerous goods?

First, check the carrier you want to ship with accepts the classification of DG you're shipping.

You will find information on carriers in our Know Your Carrier section.

If the carrier accepts the classification of DG you're shipping, contact your Shippit Account Manager or Support Team as you need approval before shipping.

It's important to note that should our account be used to ship dangerous or prohibited goods without prior approval, we may need to suspend or cancel your account.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful



Article is closed for comments.